If you’re convicted of drunk driving in the state of Florida, you might be entitled to a hardship license. However, you will likely need to enroll in traffic school as a condition of restoring your driving privileges.
Is this your first conviction?
After your first DUI conviction, you must attend DUI school before your license can be restored. If you choose to do so after your revocation period ends, you must show proof of enrollment in such a program before you’ll get your license back. Failing to complete a DUI program within 90 days will result in your license being cancelled until this condition has been met.
Is this your second or third conviction?
Florida law requires you to go to DUI school if you have been convicted of driving while impaired twice within a period of five years. The same is true if you have been convicted of a third DUI within a period of 10 years.
Were there aggravating factors in your case?
If you are convicted of DUI manslaughter, your license will be permanently revoked even if you haven’t been convicted of this crime in the past. However, you can obtain limited driving privileges by completing DUI school. A DUI defense attorney may explain how to do so.
It may be in your best interest to hire legal counsel if you are charged with DUI. An attorney may be able to help you avoid penalties such as license suspension or revocation. This might be done by having evidence suppressed, which may lead to a charge being reduced or dismissed. In the event that a charge is dismissed, it may be possible to have it removed from your record.