Motorists in Florida may benefit from learning more about the state’s DUI suspension laws. In Florida, driving under the influence of alcohol, controlled substances or chemical substances are treated as one offense. Evidence of the unlawful act is taken through observing the impairment of normal activities or a blood alcohol level of .08 or above. Penalties for these convictions are mostly the same, but may be increased by blood alcohol level or if a minor was onboard.
Revocation periods for DUI in Florida
A first offense not involving bodily injury requires a minimum license revocation of 180 days and a maximum of one year. A first offense involving bodily injury requires a minimum revocation of three years. A second offense occurring within five years of the first requires a minimum revocation of five years. Eligibility for hardship reinstatement may initiate after one year. A second offense occurring over five years after the first has the same revocation period as the first offense.
Multiple DUI offenses in Florida
A third offense within 10 years of the second offense requires a minimum revocation period of 10 years. Eligibility for hardship reinstatement begins after two years. A third offense over 10 years after the second conviction applies the same revocation period as a first offense. Regardless of the DUI defense or when previous convictions occurred, a fourth offense requires mandatory permanent revocation. Eligibility for hardship reinstatement starts after five years. If incarcerated, the revocation period starts the day of release.
Aggravated DUI offenses in Florida
Vehicular homicide, DUI serious bodily injury or manslaughter all require a minimum revocation period of three years. A mandatory permanent revocation is required for anyone convicted of DUI manslaughter. Motorists may be eligible for hardship reinstatement after five years if there are no prior related DUI convictions.