An arrest on grand theft charges in Florida is serious. There are varying degrees of crime depending on the value of the property involved.
What is grand theft?
Grand theft is a crime that involves taking another person’s property to deprive them of it. A person can be charged with grand theft if they steal property that has a value of at least $750.
What are the degrees of grand theft crimes?
Grand theft is considered a felony offense, which means that a person who is convicted can face time in prison and hefty fines. Depending on the circumstances surrounding the case, there may be additional penalties handed down.
There are varying degrees of grand theft. Grand theft in the third degree is charged when the property involved in the crime has a value ranging from $750 to $20,000. If a person is convicted of third-degree grand theft in Florida, they could face up to five years in prison and a fine of up to $5,000.
Grand theft in the second degree can be charged if the property involved carries a higher value. If a person is convicted of the crime, they could face up to 30 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000. Additional charges can be applied in real estate or other property that suffered over $1,000 in damages or if the property was stolen was cargo greater than $50,000 in value that was brought into Florida from another state.
First-degree grand theft is a felony crime that’s can be charged when the victim of the theft is 65 or older. A person can also face first-degree grand theft charges if the property stolen exceeds $50,000 in value. Individuals convicted of this crime are usually ordered to pay restitution and perform community service.
Facing grand theft charges is no joke. You need to take the charges seriously and protect your rights and freedom.